First days

On Thursday I had my first day of classes at CTS.  I so wished I had some brand new #2 pencils to sharpen for the occasion, but alas, I purchased mechanical pencils.  I also bought highlighters and new ink gel pens.  I had an uncontained giddiness and idealism that has yet to be jaded.  I was alert (albeit freezing) for both of my classes, my brain whirring with all that there was to be learned.  There were hip new 3-ring notebooks for each class and unmarred syllabi to put in them.  

On my first day, here’s what I learned:

I have amazing, passionate professors who want me to succeed.  One of them, Dr. Williams wrote the book Far as the Curse is Found, which I have been reading this August.

For a realist, I’m very idealistic about this season of school.

Take snacks and a long-sleeved layer to 3 hour classes.

This is going to be great.

Hopefully, forthcoming, is a picture of Karen and I on our way to class together.  I recalled the pics my mom used to take of my brother and I on our bikes (I had a banana seat) ready to pedal our way to our first day of elementary school, backpacks hanging over both shoulders, attired in new back-to-school clothes.  I bought a new t-shirt for Thursday.

1 Comment

Filed under moments

One response to “First days

  1. Ooo, we just got Far As the Curse is Found in the mail this week! The Young Shepherds are reading it for their class. I think I might have to take a look at it.

    (I threw 2 peanut butter jars away last week. What a waste. I couldn’t help but think of B.)

Leave a comment